Belize

Another excursion on our cruise was in Belize. I was told that Belize was beautiful so I was excited to see for myself. We spent half a day on the Belize River. It was indeed beautiful. We saw: bats hovering near the river’s edge, Howler monkeys sleeping in flowering trees, an alligator in the water, a Jabari stork  and huge iguanas resting in the flowering tree branches. 

Our tour guides genuinely shared their knowledge of Honduras. The trees with orange flowers were called Flamboyant tree. I think it is their national tree.

They eat armadillo, green iguanas, and lots of fresh fruit. Our lunch at the planned stop alongside the river was delicious BBQ chicken, rice and something similar to a sweet potato, washed down with a Belikin beer.

Their language is a mixture of English creole. The guide suggested to us, “take off the ‘er’ and add ‘a’ to our words. For example, sister becomes Sista, driver becomes Driva. The ‘th’ sound becomes ‘d’ , for example this becomes dis.

Their culture culture mixes African and Mestizo cultures. Approximately 11% of their population is of Mayan descent.

In the afternoon we toured ruins of Altun Ha. The site was used for Mayan ceremonies and was one of the richest sites. A large emerald head was uncovered there. You can read more about that here: http://altunha.com

  At the top of the pyramid blood letting ceremonies were held. The steep steps were made of limestone mixed with shells.

In the hot, humid afternoon, after a break to pour my water over me so I would not pass out, I climbed to the top of Altun Ha! The tour guide kindly stayed with me until I had enough steady strength to climb down. When I made it down I bought a freshly cut coconut, the lady deftly used a machete to whack it open. I could feel my electrolytes stabilizing as I sipped. 
 

5 thoughts on “Belize

  1. Debbie Lynn September 21, 2016 / 11:46 am

    Sign me up. I’m ready to go because there is also great scuba diving in Belize. Did you eat BBQ chicken…or was it really armadillo??? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, MCC, SCAC January 26, 2017 / 4:16 am

    I’m sure it is gorgeous, but I’ll have to visit through you, virtually, I’m sorry to have to accept.

    “. . . a break to pour my water over me so I would not pass out” was all I needed to read! I’m desperately heat defensive, so I would probably have been the trip’s very first casualty – barely moments beyond the steps of an air conditioned building.

    Canada, Alaska, even the South Pole would probably make for better trips with me along -lol. 🙂

    Thanks for sharing!
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to educate a world!”

    Liked by 1 person

    • Pat January 26, 2017 / 4:19 am

      Thank you for reading! I once experienced overheating so I can’t take it anymore. I finally accepted that too.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, MCC, SCAC January 26, 2017 / 7:16 pm

        Like many others afflicted with heat “sensitivity,” my body doesn’t even begin cool-down efforts until onset of heat stroke – so summer-temps are usually quite the problem! Many are practically housebound in winter – other way around for me.

        Once living in Manhattan, I almost passed out on the subway stairs one summer – slumped down on those yucky stairs until some kind soul helped me to get up, out and into a coffee shop with A/C and water (one man even threw a quarter at my feet as he pushed past me!)

        No more subways for me after that experience – unless it was cold outside! I couldn’t tolerate buses with broken AC or overactive heat either. Few drivers were keen to answer my question about same before boarding, so I paid for more than a few two block trips.

        Saved a ton on cleaning bills and deodorant through-out my life, however. 🙂

        xx,
        mgh

        Like

Leave a Reply

